What is the semicolon tattoo mean?

The semicolon as a tattoo is used to symbolize a suicide attempt. Grammatically it marks where a sentence could’ve ended, but didn’t. As a tattoo, it marks where a life could’ve ended, but didn’t. Some may use it as a reminder of their experience, while others may use it to show support.