What does bartender mean?

A bar is a place alcohol is legally sold. The bar is the medieval version of today’s plexiglass protect for the person serving the alcohol. Thus the tender of the liquor became known as the “bar” tender. His job is to sell liquor behind the relative safety of the bar.