What is survivor ship bias?

Survivorship bias is an illogical shortcoming in which one example is used to justify a larger, tangentially related idea. For example, Bill Gates is a very rich man, but he didn't graduate university. Therefore, a survivorship bias would state to become rich, you shouldn't graduate university.