What does m. e. d. i. t. e. r. r. a. n. e. a. n. spell?

M-E-D-I-T-E-R-R-A-N-E-A-N spells "Mediterranean," the name of the large sea that separates Europe and Africa.

---

Mediterranean, which is a sea in Europe.