Do they bleach white bread?

The bread is not bleached. The flour which is used to make the bread is. But, it is not the bleach used in a laundry. The chemicals such as potassium bromate, azodicarbonamide, or chlorine dioxide gas are used to remove any slight, natural yellow shade making its baking properties more predictable.