When was chair noble?

The Chernobyl nuclear reactor disaster occurred in the Ukraine in1986; it was the worst nuclear incident ever. Reporting on the event is sketchy. Radiation poisoning in the immediate vicinity resulted in deaths. Wind carried radiation west across Europe resulting in untold morbidity and mortality.