How long can you keep frying oil?

It depends on the kind of oil, how many times it's been used, what has been fried in it and how hot it has been when used. Some unused oils have a shelf life of only one year. If the container has been opened, it could be less than that. Rancid oil will have quite a strong unpleasant smell.