What does the name gaga mean?

Gaga is used most frequently to mean “excessively and foolishly enthusiastic.” For example, “Lady Gaga's fans are gaga over her plastic bubble dress.” And, the English usage is probably derived from the French version of gaga, which means “senile, foolish.”