How do you tell if a tv is a smart tv?

The settings menu of a Smart TVs will show apps and programs to access content such as Prime TV, HBO, Showtime, etc. Many also include a web browser for internet browsing. Standard TVs require hardware such as a cable box or streaming device to view programming.