Can turtles breathe on their butts?

Yes. Instead of ribs, turtles have muscles that pull the body outwards, towards the openings of the shell, allowing inhalation. Sacs next to the cloaca, called bursa, are used for breathing. Oxygen diffuses through the blood vessels lining the sacs letting turtles breathe.