What is nippy cheese?

Nippy Cheddar cheese was a popular roll of cheese back in the 1970 s but is no longer available. Using regular sharp cheddar cheese in it s place will not work, you can substitute it with a quality cheddar cheese spread like Merkts sharp cheddar cheese spread.