Does pepper spray go bad?

Most pepper mace has a 3 year expiration date, which means it needs to be replaced every 36 months. Some pepper sprays place the manufactured date on the canister. This means your spray will expire 3 years from the stated manufactured date. Never purchase a pepper spray without an expiration date.