Who is alan adele?

Alan-a-Dale is a figure in the Robin Hood legend. According to the stories, he was a wandering minstrel who became a member of Robin's band of outlaws, the "Merry Men". There is also a 1902 Kentucky-Derby-winning thoroughbred by that name.