What are the characteristics of an australian shepherd?

Australian Shepherds are extremely energetic. They love to be able have a job that keeps them busy. They are very intelligent, and excellent problem solvers which makes them easy to train. Protective of their owners property and loyal. Perfect for a family with young children and a large yard.