What is for whom the ball rolls?

"For Whom The Bell Tolls" is a novel by Ernest Hemmingway, published in 1940. It is also the title of songs by the Bee Gees, Metallica, and J. Cole. There have also been movies and episodes of television shows either based on the Hemmingway story or named in reference to it.