Are camels native to australia?

No, The first camel arrived in Australia in 1840. At least 15,000 camels with their handlers are estimated to have come to Australia between 1870 and 1900. With the introduction of motorized transportation in the 1920s and 1930s, many of these camels were released into the wild.