What is the straw penny?

A Straw Penny is another name for the Wheat Penny. This one-cent coin, produced between 1909 to 1958, is also known as the Lincoln Wheat Ear Cent, Wheat Back, Wheat Head and Wheatie in addition to the name Straw Penny.