What does aloe do to your skin?

Aloe is thick triangle shape plant like leaf catus shape derivative. It has a thick block like gel in natural. Not much info on exact composition but should be made of cellulose and some protein matrix. Used as cosmetic hydrating agent as well as for exotic consumption.