How many miles per hour does a bullet go?

Bullet velocities vary greatly depending on the cartridge. At the muzzle, typical pistol bullet velocities are 600 to 800 miles per hour, or 850 to 1200 feet per second. Typical rifle bullets travel 1500 to 2000 miles per hour, or 2200 to 3000 feet per second. A few can reach 2200 miles per hour.