Why do wet dogs smell bad?

They have an oil in their skin. The specific oil is called Sebum, it collects on the hair shaft and follicles to protect a dog's skin from dehydration. When the dog gets wet, like after a day at the beach or a bath, the oil and the water together create a bacteria which causes the unpleasant odor.