Why are jackalanons called jackolantern?

Jack o'lanterns refer to the Irish tradition of carving faces into vegetables to frighten off the spirit of Stingy Jack, who tricked the devil out of money and was not allowed into heaven or hell, and who therefore must wander the earth every Halloween.