What is we are the world about?

"We Are the World" was a benefit song to alleviate starvation, specifically as a result of the 1983-85 Ethiopian famine. Written by Michael Jackson & Lionel Richie, the 1/21/1985 recording brought together some of the era's best-known artists. More than $63 million was raised for humanitarian aid.