What is a frontal snow squall?

A weather front is a boundary separating air masses for which several characteristics differ, such as air density, wind, temperature, and humidity. A squall is a sudden violent gust of wind or a localized storm. So a frontal snow squall would be a violent snowstorm along a cold front.