What is the sls rocket?

SLS stands for Space Launch System, the 2-stage heavy-lift expendable launch vehicle under development by NASA to replace the Ares 1 and Ares 5 launch vehicles. SLS is intended as the foundation for a generation of human exploration missions to deep space.