How long does it take to roast chestnuts in the oven?

Preheat oven to 425°. Use a serrated knife to cut an "x" on each one. Place chestnuts flat side down on a small baking sheet. Bake 20 to 25 minutes. Place them into a bowl and cover with a towel for 15 minutes. Allowing them to steam a bit will make them easier to peel.