Why did they call abraham lincoln honest aid?

His nickname was "Honest Abe". Abe was short for Abraham. He was a man who held himself high with regard to integrity and self esteem and worked diligently to maintain his reputation as an honest politician and lawyer – something that was not always easy in either of those fields then or now.