What happened in nineteen eighty seven?

Many things happened in 1987. For example, the new Philippines Constitution went into effect, Klaus Barbie was tried for World War II crimes, the dusky seaside sparrow became extinct, martial law ended in Taiwan, a tsunami hit the Gulf of Alaska, and the Perl programming language was created.