Why do people clip pitbull's ears?

These days, ear cropping is done for cosmetic reasons. However, the procedure used to be done for practical reasons. For example, Pits were often used as guard dogs. ... Ear cropping also helped prevent ear injuries on hunting dogs who were likely to get caught on thorns or brambles.