What does the word brennan mean?

The given name Brennan is considered to be mainly an Irish or Gaelic name. The name is derived from the Irish surname Brennan, which in one form means "descendant of Braonán". The Gaelic personal name Braonán is derived from the Irish braon, meaning "sorrow".