Why did the revolutionary war happen?

There were many reasons for the American Revolution. Among the most prominent were Parliament placing taxes on the colonist, such as the paper tax and tea tax, and the colonist having no representation in Parliament. Having to quarter British troops at the colonist expense didn't help either.