What is the shape of an atom?

Atoms lack a well-defined outer boundary, so their dimensions are usually described in terms of an atomic radius. This measures the distance out to which the electron cloud extends from the nucleus. This assumes the atom to exhibit a spherical shape, which is only obeyed for atoms in free space.