When did irregardless become a word?

Strictly speaking, the word "irregardless," spelled I-R-R-E-G-A-R-D-L-E-S-S, hasn't become a word at all. It's simply a misspeaking of the word "regardless," without the I-R at the beginning, and it's considered substandard.