What is spinal tap delivery?

Also called a lumbar puncture, is an invasive outpatient procedure used to remove a sample of cerebrospinal fluid from the subarachnoid space in the spine. (This test is similar to a blood test, in which a needle is inserted into an artery to collect blood for testing.)