When was the rifle invented?

1860s. The invention of the minnie balls in the 1840s solved the slow loading problem, and in the 1850s and 1860s rifles quickly replaced muskets on the battlefield. Rifled muskets, were very similar to the muskets they replaced, but the military also experimented with other designs.