What is a non dairy substitute for buttermilk?

Lemon juice. Add one to two tablespoons lemon juice to a plant-based milk alternative (such as soy milk or almond milk) to measure one cup. Stir the mixture, let it stand for five to ten minutes or until thickened (aka curdled) and you’re good to go.