What's a blue star family?

The blue star symbolize hope and pride for the military service of a family member. Silver indicates wounded in action, and symbolize gallantry, Gold stars indicate killed during active duty and symbolize the sacrifice made for honor and freedom. They are displayed in windows of military families.