What does a turtle look like without a shell?

Tortoises and turtles absolutely cannot live without their shells. It is fused to the tortoises' and turtles' bones so they cannot live without it. In fact, the shell of a tortoise or turtle has nerve endings, which means it can feel you touching it and it hurts when the shell is damaged.