What's the difference between an h. m. o. and a ppo?

AN H, M, O, provides all services at their location. A P, P, O, allows you to choose from a set of doctors and other services available, possibly in a much wider area. Some P, P, O, plans allow use of any physician at extra cost.

---

In an HMO, specialist care is obtained by getting a referral from your primary care provider. You will not be reimbursed for care outside the HMO network. A PPO does not require referrals, and offers reimbursement for out of network care, but costs more.