What is the three mile island disaster?

The Three Mile Island accident was a partial meltdown of reactor number 2 of Three Mile Island Nuclear Generating Station in Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, that occurred on March 28th, 1979. It was the most significant accident in U.S. commercial nuclear power plant history.