What's the defcon?

The Defense Ready Condition (DEFCON) system indicates threat levels. It communicates the specific level of required military readiness for potential attacks, which may include nuclear weapons. DEFCON levels range from 1, maximum readiness, to DEFCON level 5, the lowest state of readiness.