Why does the u. s. not use the metric system?

We inherited our outdated system from the English. We tried "metrification" back in the 70s and went about it all wrong, teaching conversion formulas to students. Everyone complained it was too hard to convert all the time. If we'd just switched over and been done, we'd be metric now