Why is the outer core liquid?

The inner core is under such pressure from gravity that its atoms can not move and are compressed into a solid crystalline state. The outer core is under sufficient pressure to heat it into magma but the pressure is reduced enough to allow its atoms to move about and preserve its liquid state.