What is a hybrid vegetable?

A hybrid vegetable is created when plant breeders intentionally cross-pollinate 2 different varieties of a plant, aiming to produce an offspring, that contains the best traits of each of the parents. Cross-pollination is a natural process that occurs within members of the same plant species.