Why was it called the cold war?

It was called the Cold War because neither the Soviet Union nor the United States officially declared war on each other. However, both sides clearly struggled to prevent the other from spreading its economic and political systems around the globe.

---

It was called the cold war because we were not actively engaged in direct military maneuvers.