Why was it called the cold war?

A cold war is a state of conflict between nations that does not involve direct military action. After World War II the USA and USSR waged a cold war that included military, political, and economic posturing that negatively impacted each nation in order to gain an edge.

---

It was called the Cold War because neither the Soviet Union nor the United States officially declared war on each other. However, both sides clearly struggled to prevent the other from spreading its economic and political systems around the globe.

---

It was called the cold war because we were not actively engaged in direct military maneuvers.