When was the colony of jamestown founded?

1607

---

Jamestown was originally established by the Virginia Company of London as James Fort on May 4 1607 to protect the company's interests in the New World. It was considered a permanent settlement in 1610, after a brief abandonment. Jamestown served as the colonial capital from 1616 until 1699.