Where does the term watershed moment come from?

A watershed moment is a turning point, the exact moment that changes the direction of a situation. A Watershed is an area of land that divides the flow of rivers. The figurative sense of watershed came into use in the mid-1800s, and watershed moment came into use around the turn of the 20th century.