What kind of airplane was the memphis belle?

The Memphis Belle is a Boeing B-17F Flying Fortress used during the Second World War. It inspired the making of two motion pictures: a 1944 documentary film, Memphis Belle: A Story of a Flying Fortress and the 1990 Hollywood feature film, Memphis Belle.

---

The National Museum of the United States Air Force placed the Memphis Belle on public display in May 2018. It is one of only 13 B-17s that still fly today.