Why was president nixon impeached?

Despite popular belief he wasn’t impeached but instead resigned during the Watergate scandal before the impeachment hearings by the House could take place

---

On July 27, 29, and 30, 1974, the Committee approved three articles of impeachment against Nixon, for obstruction of justice, abuse of power, and contempt of Congress. With his political support completely eroded, Nixon resigned from office on August 9, 1974.

---

President Richard Nixon was impeached for obstruction of justice, abuse of power, and contempt of Congress. This was primarily in relation to the Watergate scandal, in which Nixon was involved in the break-in of the Democratic National Committee's Watergate office to obtain information.