Who originally recorded hound dog?

Although Elvis Presley’s 1956 version of the song “Hound Dog” is most familiar to people, the song was written by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, and was first recorded by Big Mama Thornton on August 13, 1952, four years before Elvis Presley’s version.