What is a scottish landowner?

A person who owns land in Scotland is traditionally a Laird, or Lord. Women in Scotland didn't own land at the time this custom came into being, but today a female Scottish landowner is a Lady. Some companies will sell you a title to a few square feet of Scotland so you can be a Laird or a Lady